Home SAM RAYBURN ISD Five Sam Rayburn FFA students earn Lone Star Degree

Five Sam Rayburn FFA students earn Lone Star Degree

by MyBonhamTexas
0 comment

The Sam Rayburn Future Farmers of America recently announced that five of its students received the Texas FFA Lone Star Degree, which is the highest degree the State FFA Association can award.

Award recipients are Harley ChaffinReagan GibbsAbbigayle KaneClayton McCraw, and Sawyer Miller.

Per www.texasffa.org, the guidelines state, “FFA members may apply to receive the Lone Star Degree only after they have received the Chapter degree. Those wishing to receive their Lone Star Degree must have been an active FFA member for at least two years, complete at least four semesters of agricultural science at or above the ninth grade level, maintain a supervised agricultural experience (SAE) program, invest significant time and money in their SAE, demonstrate their leadership skills and show a commitment to the FFA through involvement at the chapter level and above.”

Each of the Sam Rayburn FFA students was honored in a virtual ceremony at 10 a.m. on July 10 during the fifth general session of Texas FFA Convention. Award recipients were set to walk the stage and receive their degrees in Dallas, but the public ceremony in the metroplex was canceled due to the spread of COVID-19.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment