Home LOCAL NEWS American Planning Association honors announced for Texas; Fannin County scored silver in Best Practice Award

American Planning Association honors announced for Texas; Fannin County scored silver in Best Practice Award

by MyBonhamTexas
0 comment

The American Planning Association (APA) Texas Chapter today announced the state’s best planning projects, advocates, and communities for 2020. The Texas Planning Awards Program recognizes outstanding efforts in planning achievements and planning leadership in Texas.

Locally, northeast Texas made the list with a notable award. Fannin County scored silver in the “Best Practice Award” under the category of Planning Achievement Awards for the county’s work on the Bois d’ Arc Lake. The City of Richardson won gold for its work on the Collins/Arapaho TOD and Innovation District Form-Based Code.

These awards represent the state’s highest planning honors. The Awards Selection Committee evaluated nominees based on originality and innovation, engagement, implementation and effectiveness, quality, and promotion of planning.

“These awards provide a great reminder to all Texans of the value sound planning practices bring in helping communities create unique places so many people love,” said Chance Sparks, AICP, President of APA-Texas. “The success of these places requires total alignment – from the deepest grassroots through to the local elected officials and even state and federal officials – that should be an inspiration to all in how collaboration, respect and teamwork can have great results in the communities we all cherish.”

The Texas Planning Awards Program also recognizes an elected and appointed official who has made an outstanding contribution to planning; student project award; and a Community of the Year. The announcement of the Texas Planning Awards is one of the ways APA kicks off National Community Planning Month each October, a month-long event celebrating the accomplishments of the many residents, leaders, officials, and professionals who contribute to making great communities through the planning process. The 2020 Texas Planning Award Recipients are listed on the following pages by award category. To read more about each award category and award recipient, click here.

Planning Excellence Awards

Advancing Diversity & Social Change 

  • COVID-19 Emergency Housing Assistance Program – City of San Antonio 
  • Making Equity Flow – University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture

Comprehensive Plan 

  • Plan Lubbock 2040 – City of Lubbock
  • Plan 2040 – City of Brenham

Planning Advocate

  • Donna Barron, City Manager – City of Lewisville

Student Project

  • 2020 Comprehensive Plan: Rural Planning Following Hurricane Harvey – Texas A&M University

Community of the Year

  • City of Dayton

Planning Achievement Awards

Best Practice Award

  • City of Richardson: Collins/Arapaho TOD & Innovation District Form Based Code – Gold
  • Fannin County: Bois d’ Arc Lake – Silver

Implementation Award

  • Texas A&M University: Nolanville: Small Town Implementation through Democracy in Action – Gold
  • City of Houston: User’s Guide for Walkable Places and Transit-Oriented Development – Silver

Outreach Award

  • Vision Galveston – Gold
  • H-GAC Livable Centers Study for the International Management District – Silver

Transportation Planning Award

  • US 67 Corridor Master Plan – Gold
  • City of North Richland Hills: Vision2030 Transportation Plan – Gold

Urban Design Award

  • North Houston Livable Centers Study – Gold
  • City of Colleyville: Plaza at City Hall – Silver

Grassroots Award

  • Comfort: Comfort Vision 2050 – Gold

Environmental Planning Award

  • Bastrop, Caldwell, and Travis Counties: Healthy Parks Plan for Travis, Bastrop, & Caldwell Counties – Gold
  • City of Plano: Expressway Corridor Environmental Health Study – Silver

Resilience Award

  • Resilient Houston – Gold
  • San Antonio Climate Ready, Climate Action & Adaptation Plan – Gold

More information

For more information about the Texas Planning Awards Program, as well as a list of the planning award recipients from previous years, visit this link.

The American Planning Association and its professional institute, the American Institute of Certified Planners, are dedicated to advancing the art, science and profession of good planning – – physical, economic, and social — so as to create communities that offer better choices for where and how people work and live. Members of APA help create communities of lasting value and encourage civic leaders, business interests, and citizens to play a meaningful role in creating communities that enrich people’s lives. APA has offices in Washington, D.C., Chicago, Ill, and Shanghai, China. For more information, click here.

If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Claire Hempel, AICP Texas Awards Committee Chair at 512-774-9191. One can also send an email to planningawards@apatexas.org. For more of the latest news, click here.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment